Hiring processes evolve and change depending on a company's needs. Here at Workstream, the hiring stages for each position can be easily customized and you may add or delete a stage at any time.

We receive a lot of concerns regarding this error message:

"This stage cannot be deleted. There are applicants currently in the stage. Please move them to another stage and try again."

It is a straightforward message which can be solved by moving the applicants in the stage you wish to delete preferably to the next in order to keep the flow going.

When moving applicants to another stage, make sure that it will be in one that does not send automated messages to avoid confusion. We advise the Application stage.

Please refer to this article on how to move applicants:

Moving applicants from one stage to another

Please take note that rejected applicants will be moved as well. You may set the filter to show them after you have moved the active applicants:

After doing so, please follow the same steps in the article provided above.

Once you have moved all of the applicants to another stage, you may try to delete the stage again.

Related articles

Deleting a stage

Viewing rejected applicants

Want to talk to our Support team? Look for the Intercom icon at the bottom right part of your dashboard and click on New conversation, or send an email at help@workstream.is.

Did this answer your question?