After you submit payroll and start mailing paper checks, you may need to take action on individual checks, such as previewing the check details or canceling the mailing.
The actions available depend on where the check is in the mailing process.
All paper-check actions live in the three-dot (⋯) menu next to each team member in the Payments tab. The menu can include Preview check, View mailing bundle, Cancel check mailing, and View tracking details, depending on the check's status.
Preview a check before it’s delivered
Previewing lets you confirm the check amount, payee, and signature before delivery.
Go to Team View, then Payroll › Payroll.
Go to the Submitted tab, then open the payroll run.
Find the team member you want to preview.
Select the three-dot (⋯) menu next to their name, then select Preview check.
This opens the check preview page.
Cancel a check before it’s printed
You can only cancel checks before printing. Cancellation is available when the payment status shows Mailing: Processing or Mailing: Printing.
To cancel a check:
Go to Team View, then Payroll › Payroll.
Go to the Submitted tab, then open the payroll run.
Find the team member you want to cancel check mailing for.
Select the three-dot (⋯) menu next to their name, then select Cancel check mailing.
When you try to cancel a check, you'll see a Cancel mailing bundle? message that says: “This check is part of a mailing bundle. Canceling it will also cancel all other checks in the same mailing bundle.” It also notes that the mailing costs are refunded.
This means the check you selected is grouped with other checks that are being mailed together. Because they’re processed together, individual checks inside a bundle can’t be canceled on their own.Before selecting Yes, proceed, make sure to review:
How many checks are in the bundle
Which team members are included
❔What's next
Monitor check status in the "Payments" tab to see if a canceled check was successfully removed.





