Skip to main content

Add, edit, and activate users

Add, edit, and manage user accounts in Workstream, ensuring proper access and permissions across the platform.

Managing users in Workstream is a crucial aspect of maintaining an organized and secure workflow. With the Create and manage users permission, you can add and manage users to ensure that each team member has appropriate permissions.

By effectively managing these aspects, you ensure that your team operates smoothly and securely within the Workstream platform.

📌 You need the Create and manage users permission.


​Pop-up window when adding a new user. Located in Admin View â€ș Access Control â€ș Users.
​


Add new users

  1. In Admin View, go to Access Control â€ș Users, then select Add user.

  2. If you're asked Does the new user need a Workstream Record?, choose:

    • Yes, create a record: Choose this option if the user is an employee who will receive tasks and manage personal information in Workstream

      1. Select an existing record from the list of your active team members, or create a new team member record. Note that team members who are still in onboarding won't appear on this list.

      2. Select Next.

    • No, just create a user: Select this option if the user is an admin, owner, or any other user not requiring a Workstream Record

      1. Enter the user's personal information such as name and contact details.

      2. Select Next.

  3. User role: Select a role for this user, then select Next.

    Note: Can't see the role you want to assign? Here's how to add a custom role.

  4. Location Access: Select the locations and departments they'll have access to, then select Next. You can also grant access to all locations and departments.
    ​

    Assign locations and departments to users
  5. Permissions: Select the areas in Workstream they'll have access to based on their role. Then select Next.

  6. Tax entity permissions (for Payroll): Select the functions in Payroll they'll have access to based on their role. Then select Next.

  7. Review: Review the user's information, then select Save. To add another user right away, select Save and add new.


Edit and manage existing users

Here's how to edit, disable, or reset a user's password.

  1. In Admin View, go to Access Control â€ș Users.

  2. Select the three-dot menu next to the user you want to manage.

  3. Here you can:

    • Edit user: Update their details such as personal information, role, access to locations and departments, and permissions

    • Reset password: Send an email to the user with instructions on how to reset their password

    • Reset login email and Send / Resend invitation (when applicable)

    • Disable: Remove their access to Workstream. Any upcoming confirmed interviews they're hosting are unassigned and set to reschedule, so you'll need to reschedule them with another interviewer.


Activate users

Here's how to restore a user's access to Workstream.

  1. In Admin View, go to Access Control â€ș Users.

  2. From Active users ▌, select Disabled users.

  3. Select the three-dot menu next to the user.

  4. Select Restore, then Restore again to confirm. Their access goes back to what it was before.


Guided Demo

Did this answer your question?