Skip to main content

Use Workstream's Chat to connect with your team (Beta)

Use Workstream Chat to send announcements, direct messages, and group chats, and assign quick tasks to your team in the Workstream US app and on the web.

💡 Workstream Chat is different from the Messages tab and SMS Messages widget, which are used for SMS and email messages on desktop and the Workstream Hire app.

Workstream Chat is a feature for real-time communication between managers and team members, available in the Workstream US app and on the web. It's designed for fast-paced environments where quick coordination matters.

These articles will provide you the necessary walkthroughs for Workstream Chat's features:
​

Send and track announcements

Send messages in Workstream Chat

Assign tasks to your team

Manage and respond to messages

Workstream Chat, available in the Workstream US app.


Set up Workstream Chat

Choose the right messaging tool

Workstream offers multiple ways to send messages. Use this table to find the right tool for your task:

If you want to...

Use Workstream Chat
​(Workstream US app and web)

Use Messages tab
​(web and Workstream Hire app)

Use SMS Messages Widget
​(web and Workstream Hire app)

Chat with your team on mobile

✅

❌

❌

Send announcements to your location

✅

❌

❌

Create custom group chats

✅

❌

❌

Message applicants

❌

✅

✅

Track replies in one inbox

✅

✅

✅

Get access to Workstream Chat

Workstream Chat is available on eligible accounts. If you don't see Chat in the app, or you see the message "You do not have a chat account. Please contact your manager.", ask your manager, or contact your Workstream point of contact or Support team through chat or email.

Download the Workstream US app and log in

📌 Your Workstream user account must be linked to a team member profile before you can use Workstream Chat. Only Super Admins can link accounts. Ask your Super Admin if you’re unsure.

You can use Workstream Chat in the Workstream US app. Follow these steps to log in:

  1. Download the app

  2. Log in to the app

    • Log in using the email address in your Workstream user profile and team member profile.
      ​

      Use the same email.jpg

💡 If you're a manager and your email address in the Users page is different from the one in your team member profile, you'll have two separate accounts: one as a manager and one as a team member.

To access manager permissions in the Workstream US app, log in using the email address listed in your Workstream user profile.

Open Workstream Chat

Once Chat is available for your account, you can open it in the Workstream US app or on the web.

  1. In the Workstream US app on your phone, tap the Chat tab in the bottom tab bar.
    ​

  2. On the web, select Chat in the left menu.

  3. You’ll now see:
    ​

    • Announcements

    • Group chats

    • Direct messages

Start by sending a message in the General chat or create a new group chat.


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q: Can team members create group chats?

A: Usually, yes. Team members can create a new group chat for their team or task. However, creating chats can be turned off for your company, or for team members only. If it's turned off, you won't be able to start a new chat.

Q: Can I assign tasks to more than one person?

A: No. Tasks in Team Chat are one-on-one only, and can be assigned from a direct message by managers and admins. For assigning tasks to multiple people, use the full Task Management tool.

Q: What languages are supported?

A: Team Chat supports translations in 57 languages
​

Languages list

  • Afrikaans

  • Albanian

  • Amharic

  • Arabic

  • Azerbaijani

  • Bengali

  • Bosnian

  • Bulgarian

  • Chinese (Simplified)

  • Chinese (Traditional)

  • Croatian

  • Czech

  • Danish

  • Dari

  • Dutch

  • English

  • Estonian

  • Finnish

  • French

  • French (Canada)

  • Georgian

  • German

  • Greek

  • Haitian Creole

  • Hausa

  • Hebrew

  • Hindi

  • Hungarian

  • Indonesian

  • Italian

  • Japanese

  • Korean

  • Latvian

  • Lithuanian

  • Malay

  • Norwegian

  • Persian

  • Pashto

  • Polish

  • Portuguese

  • Romanian

  • Russian

  • Serbian

  • Slovak

  • Slovenian

  • Somali

  • Spanish

  • Spanish (Mexico)

  • Swahili

  • Swedish

  • Tagalog

  • Tamil

  • Thai

  • Turkish

  • Ukrainian

  • Urdu

  • Vietnamese​

Q: Can I delete or unsend a message?

A: Yes. Tap and hold your message, tap Delete message, then confirm.

Q: What happens when someone is offboarded?

A: Offboarded team members can no longer sign in to Chat. They're also removed automatically from the company-wide, announcements, management, and location channels.

Did this answer your question?